A Lovely Quilt for Cinderelly – Piecing

So… I’m trying to figure out equilateral triangles. Bought some rulers – a Tri-Recs set – figuring I need them for Mom’s 54-40 quilt anyway and maybe they’d help with the castle even though it’s not a traditional block.

It’s hard to figure out how much fabric I need for each block and I feel like I’m wasting a bit. To make 5.5″, the instructions said I need 6″ of fabric. But I have 1/2″ leftover. But I’m also afraid to contradict the instructions! Especially since I’m using batiks/Fairy Frost so I get confused about which direction I might need to cut 1/2″ less on. Because one side definitely needs to be (and I need to pay very close attention to my seams!)

So I’m cautiously cutting and sewing, pressing and checking before even cutting the next block. It makes for slow going…but hopefully less bad cuts. I’m still not sure it’s right – shouldn’t there be some extra on the side for where the next block will match up? At the top points? Yeah, I really don’t know what I’m doing.

Do you see the castle? Two towers down, six to go…

Of course, speaking of bad cuts, I cut the straight pieces wrong…twice now. Some of the bits can be re-used elsewhere in the quilt. The rest of going to the little pile of Fairy Frost scraps and FQs. Which doesn’t include a dark blue that I decided I need for prairie point flags. Guess I’ll be off to the quilt shop when I know how much more light blue I need!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/a-lovely-quilt-for-cinderelly-piecing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You lost me at equilateral. ;o) Can’t wait to see the finished quilt. I know it will be lovely. Happy Monday! :o) Larri at Seams Inspired


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

