Airplane Baby Quilt – Sewing Together the Plane

I finally figured out what I was doing wrong on the airplane! I needed to match up the pieces side-by-side first, and then flip one side. (I thought I had tried this, but apparently not…) Of course, I’m not the best at flipping, so there’s still been some seam ripping. I wonder if using a piece of tape will help? For some reason, the bottom half of the plane is harder than the top half.

I was also positive I had cut the wings wrong, as the top was a good 1/2″ shorter than the top half of the plane. But I went to a local quilt shop to sign up for classes (yay, real knowledge!) and the lady assured me I was over-thinking it. With 1/4″ seams, it will, of course, line up perfectly. She also told me my seams were good and I was probably a little beyond the basics of the beginner class. But since I’ve never had any classes, I’m gonna do it anyway!

So from there, I cut all the pieces for all four airplane blocks, and have been steadily sewing them together. (Mom, I’m using the ‘keep sewing and don’t cut threads in between’ technique we saw on Simply Quilts. I’m sure it’s a common technique but I always think of you and the show when I do it!)

airplane_partialtop

Two finished blocks and the blue blocks laid out on the ground. The border will be the AF fabric. Because I have more of that leftover than the blue. Each airplane block is rotated so the planes will look like they’re flying in a circle.

airplane_block

Close-up of one block. I cut each tail triangle special to get the AF logo on it. Oooh, special!

Published in: on February 21, 2009 at 9:07 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/airplane-baby-quilt-sewing-together-the-plane/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey honey — good going!


Leave a Reply

