Stash Project – Crayon Roll

I have a lot of extra fabric. But unlike many other stashes, mine is from projects I started…and never finished. Mostly because, um, what the hell was I thinking when I started? (My husband says the same thing every time he looks at the one chair I painted. Stripping chairs takes a long time.)

This was my first, uh, um, “quilt.” I started it seven years ago when we were first married. I knew even less about quilting then. The burgundy is pre-quilted fabric. The green floral fabric is not. And look at those amazingly straight sashings! Er, right. The best I can say is the fabrics really match well. Go me!

stash_burgandy

I have approximately 1.5 yards of the burgundy uncut, and 20 10.5″ (hey, look, I knew about 1/4″ seams back then!) blocks. Er, that’s including the twelve I have to seam rip there.

stash_green

I can only assume I was planning on using the green floral as backing as well as sashing, because there’s a buttload of it. 3.5 yards, not counting the already-cut sashing. Today’s project barely made a dent in it.

Oh, and topping off the pile is a cute sunflower fabric that I once used to cover a papasan chair. It didn’t really work. So now I have almost 2 yards of that. It goes well with this fabric, so it will probably be used.

stash_flowers

And today’s project was…

CRAYON ROLLS!

I give credit to my older sister, who found the first link over a year ago. I don’t remember who’s site it was, but just about every sewing mom has one. Google says: Skip to My Lou, Chocolate on My Cranium, Nested – they all have a tutorial. Every sewing mom on Etsy has them in their shop. Crayon rolls are the hip thing to have in your diaper bag. Or the bag you toss whatever you can remember to take with you in the morning. Luckily, the Wee One packs his own stuff, and he was very excited about this project.

For the most part, I followed the online tutorials. 5″ for the outside and inner fabric, 6″ folded over for the crayon slots. Instead of interfacing, I used the pre-quilted fabric. Seems to work as well, but a bit bulkier.

I only did 12 crayon slots – which, each slot is 1″ except the first and last, which are 1.25″. So my fabric was 12.5″ long. If you want 13 crayons, you use 13.5″ – (11) 1″ + (2) 1.25″. Etc, etc.

I foloowed Nested’s suggestion of continuous line sewing, because I hate stopping and starting. And really, going up 5″, turning the corner, over 1″, turning the corner, down 5″ – 12 times! – is so much easier. I marked my 1″ with pins because I couldn’t find my fabric pen.

crayonroll_CL

Sewn right sides together. I left the entire right side open for flipping, in case I royally screwed up and needed easier seam ripping. But for once I did it right, and even the top and bottom stitches from the continuous lines were hidden.

crayonroll_insideout

Sure, my lines aren’t straight. But every crayon fits and that’s what counts, right?

crayonroll

The Wee One is happy, for now, but he wants one in a “boy” fabric. Also, one in marker size. That requires buying interfacing and rifling through my stash. I should have the right amount of Air Force fabric for a crayon roll after trimming down the airplane block quilt I’m working on. Which really needs to be tomorrow’s project!

Oh, and the burgundy pre-quilted fabric should yield 33 of these suckers. At 30 minutes to sew, I think I will have a nice pile for the holiday sale in November. And then I will have a little bit less stash. But still a whole lot of that green floral…

Published in: on August 3, 2009 at 9:49 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/08/03/crayonroll/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

