Stash Project – Ribbon Blankie

A year ago, my goddaughter, Roo, was born. I made her a quilt – seen here in an unfinished state. As you can see, yes, I was pretty bad at the quilting stuff back then, too. Plus, the symmetry is so completely off, but non-OCD people thought it was fine and I really didn’t want to be seam ripping.

flower_quilt

So anyway, I had leftover pink satin and leftover yellow backing, which Roo’s mom bought in Hawaii. (Nothing like someone handing you a yard of fabric and saying, “Here, make something with this!”) I always told her I’d make something out of the extra fabric, and so, just in time for a belated birthday present, here it is. (Get used to the belated stuff, Roo. Your godmother runs five minutes behind for everything.)

Like the crayon roll, there’s about a million blogs with descriptions on how to make  ribbon blankies. I adapted from Chica and Jo – mine is much smaller, only 6×6″ because that’s all the yellow I had left. My ribbon loops are also only 3″ long total (so 1.5″ looped) and of course, being a quasi-quilter, I used 1/4″ seams. Also, a handy tip – they pinned the ribbons with the pins on the inside once you start sewing. I pinned from the backside so I could remove the pins before turning it right-side-out, and avoided getting jabbed.

ribbon_blankie

I bought two rolls of ribbon, the green with pink flowers and pink with green edges. Everything else came out of a remnants bag from Hobby Lobby.

The only time-consuming part is pinning everything together. It stitches together nicely in under five minutes. I think I’m going to go around the edge with a decorative stitch just to hold everything into place for good.

ribbon_blankie_finished

Personally, I like this size – it’s baby-hand-sized. Or maybe I’m just more used to the Wee One’s tiny, um, scrap of a blankie.

Published in: on August 9, 2009 at 9:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

