Another Airplane Baby Quilt – Basted, Quilted & Half-Bound

Basting

While I was living like a vagabond in Virginia, my mother taught me to baste a quilt. It works really well if you have a (clean) kitchen island and excellent hand sewing skills. Or, um, any hand sewing skills. I have neither.

plane_block_basted

Basting involves hand sewing red thread loosely throughout the quilt. Or threading needles for Mom while she hand sews red threads loosely throughout the quilt. She could do an entire line before I was a quarter of the way through mine. And being, um, like me, she gets impatient when you can’t keep a straight line or keep picking the quilt off the kitchen island. Eventully she sends you outside so she can work in peace.

Eventually, someone has sewn red thread about every five inches through the quilt, both vertical and horizontal.

Most of the quilt didn’t shift when I quilted it, except for the (evil) chenille. Since it was Mom’s old thread, it broke quite often while I pulled it out. That’s ok, I have great seam-ripping skills and it works most excellent on loose threads like basting.

Still, since I don’t have a table at the right height and the hand sewing skills, I’m going to skip this kind of basting. After we got to Oklahoma, I bought basting safety pins, which look just like safety pins, but cost more!

Binding

Binding was my least favorite part of quilting. I was really, REALLY bad at it. Sometime during Fat Quarter Month, I was perusing Sew Mama Sew and the FQ doll quilt-along, and I discovered that the reason I dreaded binding was because I was doing it absolutely, totally wrong. Couldn’t have been more wronger. I bought double fold binding and tried to sew across the top of it while trying to hold the quilt edges together. I figured using a decorative stitch would make up for the terribleness that was the binding. It was REALLY bad. And I dreaded it!

Well, yeah, binding’s actually pretty easy. UNFOLD the double fold binding, pin the edge to the edge of the quilt, and sew along the fold. So incredibly simple!

plane_block_binding

The corner stumped me at first, even when following pictures. Luckily, Youtube exists just to show me the technique! Thank you so much to my sister (who found the video) and Shelley Cordsen!

plane_block_corner

Look at that corner! Even the corners that are (evil) chenille turned out perfect. I suddenly love binding! I can’t wait to work with real fabric instead of double fold!

Except… It’s so perfect, I don’t know how to do the other side. I was going to do a decorative stitch to seal the whole thing together, but the yellow looks so nice and perfect that I don’t want to ruin it. And, as previously mentioned, I don’t hand sew.

Mom’s coming next week. Guess what Mom’s doing next week?

Published in: on August 10, 2009 at 6:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/another-airplane-baby-quilt-basted-quilted-half-bound/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

