30th Birthday Cupcakes

The sweet, angelic creature that I carried for nine months (two with unbearably itchy rash), gave birth to after 13 hours of induced labor and raised for the past four years, refused to say happy birthday to me without some concrete evidence of a birthday. That, to him, was cupcakes.

Nevermind that his dad is TDY (and has been for my last five birthdays, one of which the sweet, angelic creature gave me viral pinkeye) and this was my THIRTIETH BIRTHDAY, which according to all my friends, makes me really old.

The boy wanted cupcakes and he was prepared to withhold his love.

So I bought Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Butter Recipe Golden Cake Mix. I thought it sounded better than “yellow cake.” It actually turned out quite chiffony-cupcake-ish. Yum! Maybe because you beat it for four minutes? Thank goodness for Kitchenaids!

I added two tablespoons of orange juice instead of some of the water, and some orange zest. Subtle flavor, but nice. For the icing, I made butter icing from the recipe in my Betty Crocker Cookbook, but split the milk into half milk, half orange juice. And added some more orange zest. Tried using my cookie press to pipe icing on, but it made a mess – I think it was a bit too soft.

And then I went all out with the design!

Published in: on August 22, 2009 at 4:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/08/22/30th-birthday-cupcakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

