Monkey See, Monkey Quilt (Quilting)

I bought the world’s softest flannel for the backing of this quilt. Love it! Can’t stop touching it!

Decided to double my quilting time by going 1/2″ from the major seams – both the big blocks and the little four patch blocks. Which was a pain when going down the middle of the monkey blocks. Is there plumb-bob for the quilting world? Because I could really use one. But man, other than the crookedness, the back looks great to me! And as a bonus, I got very good at eyeballing 1/2″ – even though I made sure to check it just in case.

I tried pin-basting. Eh, not really impressed. It held it together enough that there was no major slippage, and was easy to get everything in place to trim off the excess flannel, but it was annoying to remove pins as I quilted (not to mention having to redo a section where I sewed over the bottom of the safety pin and couldn’t remove it!) So… Don’t really know how I’ll baste in the future.

On the doll quilt, I quilted a horizontal line, then switched and did a vertical line. Ended up with several bumps in the quilt top. The full quilt I quilted all the vertical lines, smoothing out the top as I went. I was afraid that the backing would end up bumpy, but it ended up fine. I only got a few very minor bumps on the quilt top when I added in the horizontal lines.

And of course, the obligatory cat shot. Tycho thought it was necessary to sleep on the back of my table, right where the quilt was going as I sewed.

After I kicked him off for the fifth time, he gave up and slept in a scrap box instead.

Published in: on August 25, 2009 at 11:20 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/08/25/monkey-see-monkey-quilt-quilting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

