Butterfly Baby Quilt – Fabric and Pattern

I have a new niece! And man, nieces are way more fun to sew for than nephews, not that I don’t adore her big brother. But boys can get cool Christmas jammies. Girls can get pink EVERYTHING!!

But new baby means new baby quilt. I wasn’t going to work on hers right away, since I have a pile to work through, but I saw this butterfly fabric at Prairie Quilt and, well, I can’t not buy fabric. I forgot to take a picture of the fabric before starting, but there’s a bit of it in this picture:

Cloud in Fairy Frost and a purple batik for Tine’s Cinderella quilt, brown and beige butterflies from Marcus Brothers’ Close to My Heart, a pink batik and a Precious pink dotted flannel by Teresa Kogut for P&B Textiles, Debbie Mumm’s snowflake flannel from JoAnn’s — oh, and an obnoxious cat.

The fabrics were supplemented with a striped cotton from Hobby Lobby, and I’ve got a striped flannel for the border, also from Hobby Lobby.

The pattern is pretty simple, obviously, and was chain stitched in less than an hour. I have more leftover than I thought, so I’m going to attempt letters for the first time and put her name on the bottom of the back. Also, a butterfly, since my incredibly graphically un-enabled husband said it’s not a butterfly unless there’s an ACTUAL butterfly on it. And I have enough of that pink batik left. Something like thus:

And, big step for me, I bought a butterfly quilting stencil! This is going to be my first attempt at free motion quilting and I’m nervous… But I’m armed with the stencil and some Magic Chalk and I’m ready to try. Wish me luck!

Published in: on October 3, 2009 at 8:05 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/butterfly-baby-quilt-fabric-and-pattern/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

