Butterfly Baby Quilt – What’s in a Name? (And a Butterfly?)

Well, that was time-consuming! I’m now in awe of anyone who can do big quilts with lots of little pieces. I spent the last two days standing up and walking between my bed, ironing board, sewing machine, and sitting again.

There are 64 individual pieces of fabric in the name Ashley.

There are 27 individual pieces of fabric in a butterfly block. I made four…that’s 108 pieces sewn together.

(Name sewn, one butterfly sewn, two laid out.)

But finally, after way too much work, her name is done, and so are four butterflies! I did almost all of it in chain sewing, but I had to keep everything laid out on the bed and couldn’t get too many steps ahead or I’d get lost and sew something wrong. And I had very little of the stripes left to work with, so I couldn’t get anything wrong. But see, they’re all facing the right direction!

Now all I have left is joining all this together with some stripe-y flannel to make the back (or front?) of the quilt, then I’m breaking out the free-motion pattern. (Is that an oxymoron?)

Published in: on October 7, 2009 at 7:59 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/10/07/butterfly-quilt-whats-in-a-name-and-a-butterfly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

