I Wanna Be a Cowboy Baby…Quilt (Fabric & Pattern)

Hee. I just like the name of this one. I was going to go with “The Stars at Night Are Big and Bright Deep in the Heart of Texas” – seeing as it’s a Dallas Cowboys’ quilt and all. But really, Kid Rock just flows better!

So I got a request for a pink Dallas Cowboys’ quilt. Go ahead, do a search for pink Dallas Cowboys fabric. Yeah, doesn’t so much exist. I got the brilliant idea to get the white Cowboys’ fabric and dye it. Except Joann’s online freaking ran out before they filled my order (but helpfully sent me the rest of my order. Now if I don’t have one of the fabrics, what use do I have for the others???) Joann’s in-store didn’t have the fabric, and special ordering required two yards. No thanks, I don’t need extra!! I ended up buying it at Jandofabrics.com – cost more than Joann’s, but they promised not to freaking run out on me!

White Dallas Cowboys fabric….

Pink Dallas Cowboys fabric!

It washed out to a lovely pale pink that goes perfectly with the pink star fabric from Joanns.com. The blue fat quarter was from Walmart, snatched up in their misguided closing of the fabric section. I figured more stars can never hurt.

This is my pattern – like I said, more stars! I’m probably going to sash it out in the blue for accent. I’m a little worried about all the star corners – there’s a lot of angles to sew instead of straight lines! But I think I know what I’m doing. We’ll see!

(Also, I’d like to point out the current standings. Giants, 5-0; Cowboys, 3-2. And the mom-to-be is from Jersey. Tsk tsk!)

Published in: on October 14, 2009 at 9:06 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/i-wanna-be-a-cowboy-baby-quilt-fabric-pattern/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. HI, I hope you still check this!! How did you turn the white cowboys fabric pink??? I need to do the exact same thing and yours turned out so perfect!

    • I used “petal pink” RIT dye from Hobby Lobby. 🙂

      • Thanks so much!


Leave a Reply

