Shirr, why not?

I’ve been a little afraid to try shirring. I have no idea why. It’s so freaking easy! And with long straps and a Mommy who can hem, I can make the Gator a dress that will last a couple of summers.

I wound the elastic thread by machine, because I’m lazy. On the slowest setting, it wound nicely – not too loose, not too tight.

It was harder to get used to sewing on the right side of the fabric!

Two rows down and it was already starting to bunch up nicely. I used the gathering stitch on my machine and straightened the rows out only about five inches ahead and a couple of inches behind while I stitched.

After ten rows, my hands were starting to hurt, so I decided that was plenty of rows.

The finished back. That lovely shirring hasn’t even been steamed (that feature broke on my iron a long, long time ago.) It’s a bit long so that my sister can let down the hem next summer, and the summer after, and…

And don’t call me Shirley!

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 6:54 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://kindacrafty.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/shirr-why-not/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

